If Irene Can Make It There…

Apparently I’m not the only one regularly checking The Weather Channel for updates on Irene: the network’s ratings are surging along with the storm. Of course it’s hard not to watch: having such a storm hit the city is like a sci-fi blockbuster come to life. But that’s not all for me. New York is like my second hometown. In fact, if I still lived there, my apartment would have been in the evacuation zone. Plus the danger to the city is bringing to mind the tenth anniversary of 9-11 and the sixth anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, both imminent. Watching coverage of the empty, rain-washed Times Square tonight was both eerie and gorgeous.

These stills are from EarthCam’s Times Square Cam. The second one is from the camera’s first position, and on the stream, I could see and hear a gaggle gathering to play in the rain. It’ll be interesting to see what it’s like tomorrow morning.

POSTSCRIPT: An NPR story reports that “the street performer known as the Naked Cowboy, who stands at the Crossroads of the World wearing only underwear and a guitar, had a life vest on”.

Comments are closed.

