You Can Live the Life You Like

So I started watching GLEE earlier this summer, just to catch up on some research on portrayals of fat characters on contemporary television, like the musical dramedy’s Mercedes (Amber Riley) and Lauren (Ashley Fink). Somewhere along the way I got invested in the show and now I probably have to call myself a Gleek, especially since I’ve also been driven to watch the show’s corollary THE GLEE PROJECT on Oxygen. I’ll blame that on the Celebrity Studies class I’m teaching right now too, since it’s essentially about the construction of characters and stardom. This past week was on duets and I was especially delighted by this one featuring contenders Hannah McIalwain and Alex Newell. The theme of the song fits well with what I like about GLEE’s main idea–that you can get the life you want just by being yourself–and of course, who can resist the play on the conventional performance with size and gender. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.

